Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 156

Working Session V

Shri C.P. Padmanabha Reddy chaired the session with: (1) Shri N.V. Ranganadham, Advocate, Visakhapatnam, (2) Prof. R. Venkata Rao, and (3) Prof. K. Gupteswar as Faculty Members.

Shri C.P. Padmanabha Reddy, Senior Advocate, High Court of Andhra Pradesh initiated the discussion with lucid comments or, the subject. He was of the view that mens rea should be an essential ingredient of criminal offence. Secondly, minimum sentence should not be provided for these type of offences and discretion must be given to the courts to award appropriate sentence.

Shri N.V. Ranganadham, Advocate & President, Bar Association, Visakhapatnam in his address traced the concept and theory of mens rea. He said that the legislations are made making the 'act' itself punishable and without any need/ reference to mens rea. He made reference to Drugs Act and Factories. Act, etc., where the 'act' itself is made punishable. Therefore, mens rea may not always be insisted when the very doing of an act itself speaks all about it.

Prof. K. Gupteswar striking a note of caution said that total exclusion of mens rea may touch fairness. Intention or knowledge of existence of a particular legislation.

Publications making public the law must be made available. "Due Process and Fairness" have been violated if rules are not made available.

Prof. R. Venkatarao lauded the concept of 'Victim compensation' informed by Shri Srivastava. He referred to an enactment in Tamil Nadu constituting "Victim Assistance Fund".

Justice Shri Y. Bhaskararao traced the mens rea from the English case R v. Prince, R v. John, etc. Recalling the criminal law lectures in Law College. He particularly appealed 'to make suggestion to plug the loopholes.

The following persons attended the workshop:

1. Smt. K. Jhansi Rani, Hyderabad.

2. Shri K. Krishnamurthy, Hyderabad.

3. Shri R.V. Krishna Rao, Hyderabad.

4. Shri E. Sambasiva Pratap, Hyderabad.

5. Shri S. Srinivas Reddy, Hyderabad.

6. Shri K. Satnarayana Reddy, Hyderabad.

7. Shri S. Muralikrishna, Visakhapatnam.

8. Shri S. Srinivasamurthy, Visakhapatnam.

9. Shri C.D. Sarveswara Rao, Visakhapatnam.

10. Smt. C. Mahalakshmi, Visakhapatnam.

11. Shri P. Raviprakash Sarma, Visakhapatnam.

12. Kum L. Venkatalakshmi, Visakhapatnam.

13. Shri U.S.R. Raju, Viakhapatnam.

14. Shri G.V.P.B.S. Murthy, Visakhapatnam.

15. Shri P.A.K. Kishore, Visakhapatnam.

16. Kum Kuljeet Kaur, Visakhapatnam.

17. Shri P. Rajendra Prasad, Tenali.

18. Shri G. Madhava Rao, Nizamabad.

19. Shri K. Anjaneyulu, Karimnagar.

20. Kum. K. Jayasree, Proddatur.

21. Shri Suresh Kumar, Nandikotkur.

22. Shri J. Janki Ram Reddy, Kurnool.

23. Shri A. Ramasubba Reddy, Kurnool.

24. Shri P. Srinivasulu, Vijayawada.

25. Shri E. Vikram Reddy, Karimnagar.

26. Shri R. Vijayanandan Reddy, Hyderabad.

27. Shri P. Boothtucker, Visakhapatnam.

28. Shri K. Maheswar Reddy, Visakhapatnam.

29. Shri K.L.N. Sarma, Khammam.

30. Shri K.V. Ramamurthy, Visakhapatnam.

31. Shri K. Lakshmi Ram Babu, Visakhapatnam.

32. Ms. Vaili Y., Visakhapatnam.

33. Shri T. Sivarama Reddy, Vijayawada.

34. Shri D.P. Ramakrishna, Vijayawada.

35. Shri Ch. V. Sharma, Visakhapatnam.

36. Shri S. Jagannadham, Visakhapatnam.

37. Shri M. Venkata Raju, Visakhapatnam.

38. Shri M. Venkataramana, Visakhapatnam.

39. Kum. B. Jhansi, Visakhapatnam.

40. Smt. G. Uma Devi, Visakhapatnam.

41. Kum. S. Rajani, Visakhapatnam.

42. Smt. V.N.R.S. Madhavi, Visakhapatnam.

43. Smt. V.B. Seshamma, Visakhapatnam.

44. Shri Ch. Venkateswara Rao, Visakhapatnam.

45. Shri V. Someshwara Rao, Visakhapatnam.

46. Shri Polisetty Srinivasa Rao, Visakhapatnam.

47. Shri A. Bharat Kumar, Visakhapatnam.

48. Shri Kandala Srinivasa Rao, Visakhapatnam.

49. Shri Ch. Ram Babu, Visakhapatnam.

50. Shri V. Sarvanna, Visakhapatnam.

51. Smt. B. Kusuma Sree, Visakhapatnam.

52. Shri S. Krishna Mohan, Visakhapatnam.

53. Shri V. Satanarayana Sastry, Visakhapatnam.

54. Shri K. Balakrishna, Visakhapatnam.

55. Shri S.S.N. Raju, Visakhapatnam.

56. Shri P.V.V. Satnarayanamurthy, Visakhapatnam.

57. Shri C.N.V.D. Sastry, Visakhapatnam.

58. Shri K. Mailikarjuna Rao, Visakhapatnam.

59. Ms. M.V. Laxmi, Visakhapatnam.

60. Shri N.V. Badrinath, Visakhapatnam.

61. Shri M.S. Hussain, Visakhapatnam.

62. Shri P. Udayabhaskar Rao, Visakhapatnam.

63. Shri 0. Kailashnath Reddy, Hyderabad.

64. Shri N.V. Raghava Reddy, Hyderabad.

65. Shri K. Suresh Reddy, Hyderabad.

66. Shri T. Venkataratnam, Visakhapatnam.

67. Shri V. Ashok Kumar, Visakhapatnam.

68. Shri K. Appa Rao, Visakhapatnam.

69. Smt. T. Padmavathi, Visakhapatnam.

70. Shri N.V. Ranganatham, Visakhapatnam.

71. Smt. A. Bhavani, Visakhapatnam.

72. Shri M.S. Madhav, Visakhapatnam.

73. Shri K.V.S.G. Sharma, Visakhapatnam.

74. Smt. G.S.M. Lakshmi, Visakhapatnam.

75. Shri D. Ramulu, Visakhapatnam.

76. Shri N.V. Chakravarthy, Visakhapatnam.

77. Shri P. Suresh, Viskhapatnam.

78. Kum. A. Sailaja, Visakhapatnam.

79. Mrs. D.V. Laxmi, Visakhapatnam.

80. Smt. G. Anupama Chakravarthy, Hyderabad.

81. Shri G. Krishnamurthy, New Delhi.

The Indian Penal Code Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys