Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 189

High Courts for Union Territories

Article 241 of the Constitution provides that Parliament may be law constitute a High Court for a Union Territory or declare any Court in any such territory to be a High Court for such territory. The existing position of High Courts having jurisdiction over Union Territories is as follows:

(1) Delhi - A separate High Court has been constituted by the Delhi High Court Act, 1966.

(2) Chandigarh - As per section 29 of the Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966, the Punjab and Haryana Court has been conferred jurisdiction over Chandigarh Union Territory.

(3) Andaman and Nicobar Islands - The jurisdiction of the Calcutta High Court has been extended over the Andaman and Nicobar Island by the Calcutta High Court (Extension of Jurisdiction) Act, 1953.

(4) Dadra and Nagar Haveli - Jurisdiction of the Bombay High Court has been extended to this Union Territory by section 11 of the Dadra and Nagar Haveli Act, 1961.

(5) Daman and Diu - Bombay High Court is having jurisdiction over Daman and Diu (see section 20 of the Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987).

(6) Lakshadweep Island - As per section 60 of the State Reorganisation Act, 1956 the Kerala High Court is having jurisdiction over Lakshadweep Island.

(7) Pondicherry - As per section 4 of the Pondicherry (Administration)

Act, 1962, the Madras High Court is having jurisdiction over this Union Territory.

Revision of Court Fees Structure Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
Powered and driven by Neosys Inc