Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 104

4.2. Territorial extent.-

The next topic to be considered relates to the territorial extent of the Act. At present, there is no provision in the Act defining its territorial extent. It appears that before independence, the Act was in force in all the Provinces of (British) India, except the Scheduled Districts.1 Subsequently, (i.e. after independence), the Act was extended to the merged states2, and Union Territories.3 However, the Act has not so far been extended by parliamentary legislation to the area of Part 'B' States, though, presumably, substantially similar legislation may be in force in most of those areas.

1. Section 3, Laws (Local Extent) Act, 1874 (15 of 1874).

2. Merged States (Laws) Act, 1949 (59 of 1949).

3. Union Territories (Laws) Act, 1950 (30 of 1950).

The Judicial Officers Protection Act, 1850 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys