Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 39

3. Punishment under the Indian Penal Code as enacted in 1860.-

Section 53 of the Indian Penal Code, as enacted in 1860, provided for six, or rather seven, kinds of punishment, as follows:



Thirdly.-Penal servitude;

Fourthly-Imprisonment, which is of two descriptions, namely:-

       (1) Rigorous, that is, with hard labour;

       (2) Simple;

Fifthly.-Forfeiture of property;


It will be noticed, that while the section indicated the nature of the different punishments permissible under the Code, the term of the punishments mentioned in the second, third and fourth items, as also the quantum of the punishments mentioned in the last two items, was left to be specified in the relevant sections of the Code with reference to each offence.

Punishment of Imprisonment for Life under the Indian Penal Code Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
The information provided on is solely available at your request for informational purposes only and should not be interpreted as soliciting or advertisement.
Powered and driven by Neosys Inc