Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 79

Chapter 15

Ordinary Original Civil Jurisdiction of High Courts

15.1. Ordinary original civil jurisdiction.-

We propose to deal, in this Chapter, with the ordinary original civil jurisdiction of High Courts. To start with, only the three High Courts of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay were vested with such jurisdiction, exercisable within the respective limits of the three Presidency towns. However, two important developments took place later. On the one hand, certain other High Courts (besides those in the Presidency towns) came to be vested with such jurisdiction.1 On the other hand, the jurisdiction of the High Courts in the three Presidency towns came to be curtailed in course of time2.

1. See paras. 15.2 and 15.3, infra.

2. See para. 15.5, infra.

Delay and Arrears in High Courts and Other Appellate Courts Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys