Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 79

2.15. City Civil Courts in the three Presidency towns.-

Before closing this Chapter, we may state that the burden of High Courts in the Presidency towns in respect of ordinary original civil jurisdiction has been somewhat lessened by the establishment of city civil courts.1 Such a court was established for the city of Madras in 1892, for Greater Bombay by the Bombay City Civil Court Act, 1948 and for Calcutta in 1957 under the Calcutta City Civil Court Act, 1953. Their pecuniary limits have been revised from time to time.

The City Civil Courts of Bombay, Calcutta and Madras have now jurisdiction to try suits of a civil nature not exceeding Rs. 50,000 in value, except those specifically excluded from their cognizance, with the result that the ordinary original civil jurisdiction of those three High Courts is now confined to suits or proceedings exceeding Rs. 50.000 in value, apart from the original jurisdiction which they are exercising under some special statutes.

1. See also para. 2.9, supra.

2.16. Delhi and Himachal Pradesh.-

As already stated,1 High Courts of Delhi and Himachal Pradesh also exercise original civil jurisdiction in suits exceeding Rs. 50,000 in value.2 There are, however, no City Civil Courts in Delhi and Himachal Pradesh.

1. Para. 2.11, supra.

2. See Chapter 15, infra.

2.17. City Civil Courts in Ahmedabad and Hyderabad.-

It may be mentioned that in Ahmedabad and Hyderabad, there are City Civil Courts, constituted under State legislation.

Delay and Arrears in High Courts and Other Appellate Courts Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
Powered and driven by Neosys Inc