Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Report No. 15

8. (ii) Civil marriages.-

As regards the other four modes of solemnisation of marriages mentioned in section 5, they can be divided into two categories-civil and sacramental. Section 5(4) provides for marriages being solemnised by or before the Registrar appointed under the Act. That is of course, a civil marriage, and that has been retained. There was a suggestion that since all civil marriages could now be performed under the Special Marriage Act, 1954, there was no need to recognise such a category in the proposed enactment, which might be limited to sacramental marriages. But the representatives of the Christian community are strongly opposed to this, as marriages solemnised under the Special Marriage Act could be dissolved by the consent of parties, and that is against their notions and sentiments.

Report on the Law of Christian Marriage and Divorce Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys