Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

High Court Appeal

Appeals to the high court

Criminal matters

Hierarchy Criminal Courts

  • At the subordinate level there are broadly four levels of courts for any territory in a state. These are Executive Magistrates, Judicial Magistrates of Second Class, Judicial Magistrates of the first class (Metropolitan Magistrate in a Metropolitan area) and the courts of session in the increasing hierarchical order.
  • Every state consists of many sessionsí divisions and every sessionís division in turn consists of many districts. These districts may be further divided into sub-division.
  • That apart, cities designated as metropolitan areas such as Bombay, Calcutta and Madras are considered as a separate sessions division and district for these metropolitan areas the machinery for administration of criminal justice is little different from that of the order areas of the state.
  • A person convicted by a Metropolitan Magistrate or an Assistant Session Judge or Magistrate of First class or of the Second class may appeal to court of sessions.

Appeal by convicted person

Any person convicted on a trial held by Sessions judge or an Additional Sessions judge or on a trial held by any other court in which a sentence of imprisonment for more than seven years has been passed against him or against any other person in the same trial may appeal to High Court.

High Court Appeal Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys