Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

5. Contiguous zone of India.-

(1) The contiguous zone of India (hereinafter referred to as the contiguous zone) is an area beyond and adjacent to the territorial waters and the limit of the contiguous zone is the line every point of which is at a distance of twenty-four nautical miles from the nearest point of the baseline referred to in sub-section (2) of section 3.

(2) Notwithstanding anything contained in sub-section (1), the Central Government may, whenever it considers necessary so to do having regard to International Law and State practice, alter, by notification in the Official Gazette, the limit of the contiguous zone.

(3) No notification shall be issued under sub-section (2) unless resolutions approving the issue of such notification are passed by both Houses of Parliament.

(4) The Central Government may exercise such powers and take such measures in or in relation to the contiguous zone as it may consider necessary with respect to,-

(a) the security of India, and

(b) immigration, sanitation, customs and other fiscal matters.

(5) The Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette,-

(a) extend with such restrictions and modifications as it thinks fit, any enactment, relating to any matter referred to in clause (a) or clause (b) of sub-section (4), for the time being in force in India or any part thereof, to the contiguous zone, and

(b) make such provisions as it may consider necessary in such notification for facilitating the enforcement of such enactment,

and any enactment so extended shall have effect as if the contiguous zone is a part of the territory of India.

Territorial Waters, Continental Shelf, Exclusive Economic Zone and Other Maritime Zones Act, 1976 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys