Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

The South Asian University Act, 2008

2. Definitions.-

In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,-

(a) "Academic Council" means the Academic Council of the University;

(b) "academic staff" means such categories of staff as are designated as academic staff by the Statutes;

(c) "Agreement" means the Agreement for the establishment of the South Asian University;

(d) "bye-laws" means the bye-laws of the University;

(e) "Centre" means a unit of the University or of a University Institute providing teaching, consultancy and research facilities and includes a Regional Centre;

(f) "employee" means any person appointed by the University and includes teachers and other staff of the University;

(g) "Executive Council" means the Executive Council of the University;

(h) "Faculty" means a Faculty of the University;

(i) "Governing Board" means a Governing Board of the University constituted under section 6;

(j) "Hall" means a unit of residence, by whatever name called, for students of the University provided, maintained or recognised by it;

(k) "Host Country" means the Republic of India;

(l) "Host Government" means the Government of the Host Country;

(m) "Member States" means the Member States of the SAARC;

(n) "prescribed" means prescribed by Statutes, Regulations or bye-laws;

(o) "President" means the President of the University appointed under section 12;

(p) "Project Office" means the project office set up for the purpose of carrying out necessary tasks for establishing the main campus of the University;

(q) "Recognised institution" means an institution of higher learning maintained or recognised by, or associated with, the University;

(r) "Regional Centre" means a centre established or maintained by the University at any place in the SAARC region for the purpose of coordinating and supervising the work of campuses or centres in such region and for performing such functions as may be conferred on such centre by the Governing Board;

(s) "Regulations" means the Regulations of the University;

(t) "SAARC" means an organisation known as the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation established by the Charter of the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation signed on eighth day of December, 1985;

(u) "SAARC region" means the region comprising the territories of the Member States;

(v) "Schedule" means the Schedule of the Act;

(w) "Statutes" means the Statutes of the University;

(x) "teacher" means professor, reader, lecturer and research staff of the University appointed or recognised by the University for imparting instructions in the University or for giving guidance to students for pursuing any course of study of the University; and

(y) "University" means the South Asian University incorporated under section 4.

South Asian University Act, 2008 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys