Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Chapter XI

Central and State Advisory Boards on Disability and District Level Committee

60. Constitution of Central Advisory Board on Disability:-

(1) The Central Government shall, by notification, constitute a body to be known as the Central Advisory Board on Disability to exercise the powers conferred on, and to perform the functions assigned to it, under this Act.

(2) The Central Advisory Board shall consist of,-

(a) the Minister in charge of Department of Disability Affairs in the Central Government, Chairperson, ex officio;

(b) the Minister of State in charge dealing with Department of Disability Affairs in the Ministry in the Central Government, Vice Chairperson, ex officio;

(c) three Members of Parliament, of whom two shall be elected by Lok Sabha and one by the Rajya Sabha, Members, ex officio;

(d) the Ministers in charge of Disability Affairs of all States and Administrators or Lieutenant Governors of the Union territories, Members, ex officio;

(e) Secretaries to the Government of India in charge of the Ministries or Departments of Disability Affairs, Social Justice and Empowerment, School Education and Literacy, and Higher Education, Women and Child Development, Expenditure, Personnel and Training, Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, Health and Family Welfare, Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Industrial Policy and Promotion, Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Science and Technology, Communications and Information Technology, Legal Affairs, Public Enterprises, Youth Affairs and Sports, Road Transport and Highways and Civil Aviation, Members, ex officio;

(f) Secretary, National Institute of Transforming India (NITI) Aayog, Member, ex officio;

(g) Chairperson, Rehabilitation Council of India, Member, ex officio;

(h) Chairperson, National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities, Member, ex officio;

(i) Chairman-cum-Managing Director, National Handicapped Finance Development Corporation, Member, ex officio;

(j) Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Artificial Limbs Manufacturing Corporation, Member, ex officio;

(k) Chairman, Railway Board, Member, ex officio;

(l) Director-General, Employment and Training, Ministry of Labour and Employment, Member, ex officio;

(m) Director, National Council for Educational Research and Training, Member, ex officio;

(n) Chairperson, National Council of Teacher Education, Member, ex officio;

(o) Chairperson, University Grants Commission, Member, ex officio;

(p) Chairperson, Medical Council of India, Member, ex officio;

(q) Directors of the following Institutes:-

(i) National Institute for the Visually Handicapped, Dehradun;

(ii) National Institute for the Mentally Handicapped, Secunderabad;

(iii) Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Institute for the Physically Handicapped, New Delhi;

(iv) Ali Yavar Jung National Institute for the Hearing Handicapped, Mumbai;

(v) National Institute for the Orthopaedically Handicapped, Kolkata;

(vi) National Institute of Rehabilitation Training and Research, Cuttack;

(vii) National Institute for Empowerment of Persons with Multiple Disabilities, Chennai;

(viii) National Institute for Mental Health and Sciences, Bangalore;

(ix) Indian Sign Language Research and Training Centre, New Delhi, Members, ex officio;

(r) Members to be nominated by the Central Government,-

(i) five Members who are experts in the field of disability and rehabilitation;

(ii) ten Members, as far as practicable, being persons with disabilities, to represent non-Governmental Organisations concerned with disabilities or disabled persons organisations: Provided that out of the ten Members nominated, at least, five Members shall be women and at least one person each shall be from the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes;

(iii) up to three representatives of national level chambers of commerce and industry;

(s) Joint Secretary to the Government of India dealing with the subject of disability policy, Member-Secretary, ex officio.

Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys