Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934

8. Composition of the Central Board, and term of office of directors

(1) The Central Board shall consist of the following Directors, namely:-

(a) a Governor and not more than four Deputy Governors to be appointed by the Central Government;

(b) four Directors to be nominated by the Central Government, one from each of the four Local Boards as constituted by section 9;

(c) ten Directors to be nominated by the Central Government; and

(d) one Government official to be nominated by the Central Government.

(2) The Governor and Deputy Governors shall devote their whole time to the affairs of the Bank, and shall receive such salaries and allowances as may be determined by the Central Board, with the approval of the Central Government:

PROVIDED that the Central Board may, if in its opinion it is necessary in the public interest so to do, permit the Governor or a Deputy Governor to undertake, at the request of the Central Government or any State Government, such part-time honorary work, whether related to the purposes of this Act or not, as is not likely to interfere with his duties as Governor or Deputy Governor, as the case may be:

6 [PROVIDED FURTHER that the Central Government may, in consultation with the Bank, appoint a Deputy Governor as the Chairman of the National Bank, on such terms and conditions as that Government may specify.]

(3) A Deputy Governor and the Director nominated under clause (d) of sub-section (1) may attend any meeting of the Central Board and take part in its deliberations but shall not be entitled to vote:

PROVIDED that when the Governor is, for any reason, unable to attend any such meeting, a Deputy Governor authorized by him in this behalf in writing may vote for him at that meeting.

(4) The Governor and a Deputy Governor shall hold office for such term not exceeding five years as the Central Government may fix when appointing them, and shall be eligible for re-appointment.

A Director nominated under clause (c) of sub-section (1) shall hold office for a period of four years and thereafter until his successor shall have been nominated.

A Director nominated under clause (d) of sub-section (1) shall hold office during the pleasure of the Central Government.

(5) No act or proceeding of the Board shall be questioned on the ground merely of the existence of any vacancy in, or any defect in the constitution, of the board.

(6) 7[***]

(7) A retiring director shall be eligible for re-nomination.

Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys