Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

2. Definitions.

In this Act, and in all Statutes made hereunder, unless the context otherwise requires,

(a) "Academic Council" means the Academic Council of the University;

(b) "academic staff" means such categories of staff as are designated as academic staff by the Ordinances;

(c) "Board of Schools" means the Board of Schools of the University;

(d) "Campus" means the unit established or constituted by the University for making arrangements for instruction, research, education and training;

(e) "Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor" mean, respectively, the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor of the University;

(f) "College" means a college maintained by or admitted to the privileges of the University for imparting education and training in aviation studies or in its associated disciplines;

(g) "Court" means the Court of the University;

(h) "Dean of School" means an administrative officer in charge of a college, faculty or a Division in a University;

(i) "Department" means a Department of Studies and includes a Centre of Studies;

(j) "Director General" means the Director General of Civil Aviation;

(k) "Distance Education System" means the system of imparting education through any means of communication, such as broadcasting, telecasting, internet, correspondence courses, seminars, contact programmes, e-learning or the combination of such means;

(l) "employee" means any person appointed by the University and includes teachers and other staff of the University;

(m) "Executive Council" means the Executive Council of the University; (n) "Finance Committee" means the Finance Committee of the University;

1.18th November, 2013, vide notification No. S.O. 3446 (E), dated 18th November, 2013, see Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, sec. 3(ii).

(o) "Hall" means a unit of residence for the students of the University or of a College or an Institution maintained by the University;

(p) "Institution" means an institution, school, college or centre of studies maintained by or admitted to the privileges of the University for imparting education, training and research in aviation studies or in its associated disciplines;

(q)"notification" means a notification published in the Official Gazette;

(r) "off-shore Campus" means an institution, college, centres, school or campus of the University established outside the country;

(s) "principal" means the head of a college or an institution;

(t) "recognised Institution" means an institution admitted to the privileges of the University for imparting education in aviation studies or its associated disciplines;

(u) "recognised teachers" means such persons as are recognised by the University for the purpose of imparting instructions in a college or an institution admitted to the privileges of the University;

(v) "school" means a School of Studies of the University;

(w) "Statutes", "Ordinances" and "Regulations" mean, respectively, the Statutes, the Ordinances and the Regulations of the University made under this Act;

(x) "teachers of the University" means Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Readers, Senior Lecturers, Lecturers and such other persons as may be appointed or recognised for imparting instruction or conducting research in the University or in any college or institution maintained by the University or for giving guidance to students for any course of study of the University are designated as teachers by the Statutes;

(y) "University" means the National Aviation University established under this Act;

(z) "University Grants Commission" means the Commission established under section 4 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 (3 of 1956).

Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University Act, 2013 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys