Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

3. Central Coordination Committee.

(1) The Central Government shall by notification constitute a body to be known as the Central Coordination Committee to exercise the powers conferred on, and to perform the functions assigned to it, under this Act.

(2) The Central Coordination Committee shall consist of

(a) the Minister in charge of the Department of Welfare in the Central Government, Chairperson,ex officio;

(b) the Minister of State in-charge of the Department of Welfare in the Central Government,Vice-Chairperson, ex officio;

(c) Secretaries to the Government of India in-charge of the Departments of Welfare, Education, Woman and Child Development, Expenditure, Personnel, Training and Public Grievances, Health, Rural Development, Industrial Development, Urban Affairs and Employment, Science and Technology, Legal Affairs, Public Enterprises, Members, ex officio;

(d) Chief Commissioner, Member, ex officio;

(e) Chairman Railway Board, Member, ex officio;

(f) Director-General of Labour, Employment and Training, Member, ex officio;

(g) Director, National Council for Educational Research and Training, Member, ex officio;

(h) three Members of Parliament, of whom two shall be elected by the House of the People and one by the Council of States, Members;

(i) three persons to be nominated by the Central Government to represent the interests, which in the opinion of that Government ought to be represented, Members;

(j) Directors of the

(i) National Institute for the Visually Handicapped, Dehradun;

(ii) National Institute for the Mentally Handicapped, Secundrabad;

(iii) National Institute for the Orthopaedically Handicapped, Calcutta;

(iv) Ali Yavar Jung National Institute for the Hearing Handicapped, Bombay, Members, ex officio;

(k) four Members to be nominated by the Central Government by rotation to represent the States and the Union territories in such manner as may be prescribed by the Central Government:

Provided that no appointment under this clause shall be made except on the recommendation of the State Government or, as the case may be, the Union territory;

(l) five persons as far as practicable, being persons with disabilities, to represent non- governmental organisations or associations which are concerned with disabilities, to be nominated by the Central Government, one from each area of disability, Members:

Provided that while nominating persons under this clause, the Central Government shall nominate at least one woman and one person belonging to Scheduled Castes or Scheduled Tribes;

(m) Joint Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Welfare dealing with the welfare of the handicapped, Member-Secretary, ex officio.

(3) The office of the Member of the Central Coordination Committee shall not disqualify its holder for being chosen as or for being a Member of either House of Parliament.

Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act, 1995 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys