Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

2. Definitions.-

In this Act, and in all Statutes made hereunder, unless the context otherwise requires,-

(a) "Academic Council" means the Academic Council of the University;

(b) "academic staff" means such categories of staff as are designated as academic staff by the Ordinances;

(c) "Board of Studies" means the Board of Studies of the University;

(d) "Chancellor", "Vice-Chancellor" and "Pro-Vice-Chancellor" mean, respectively, the Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University;

(e) "College" means a College maintained by, or admitted to the privileges of, the University;

(f) "Court" means the Court of the University;

(g) "Department" means a Department of Studies, and includes a Centre of Studies;

(h) "employee" means any person appointed by the University, and includes teachers and other staff of the University;

(i) "Executive Council" means the Executive Council of the University;

(j) "Hall" means a unit of residence or of corporate life for the students of the University, College or Institution, provided, maintained or recognised by the University;

(k) "Institution" means an academic institution, not being a College, maintained by, or admitted to the privileges of, the University;

(l) "North-Eastern region" means the North-Eastern region of India comprising the 1[State of Meghalaya] and the 2[State of Arunachal Pradesh]; 3

(m) "Principal" means the Head of a College or an Institution, and includes where there is no Principal, the person for the time being duly appointed to act as Principal, and, in the absence of the Principal or the acting Principal, a Vice-Principal duly appointed as such;

(n) "recognised teachers" means such persons as are recognised by the University for the purpose of imparting instruction in a College or an Institution admitted to the privileges of the University;

(o) "School" means a School of Studies of the University;

(p) "Statutes", "Ordinances" and "Regulations", mean, respectively, the Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations of the University for the time being in force;

(q) "teachers of the University" means Professors, Readers, Lecturers and such other persons as may be appointed for imparting instruction or conducting research in the University or in any College or Institution maintained by the University and are designated as teachers by the Ordinances;

(r) "University" means the North-Eastern Hill University.

North Eastern Hill University Act, 1973 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys