Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

2. [Repeal of enactments.]

Rep. by the Repealing Act, 1938 (1 of 1938) s. 2 and Schedule.

1. This Act has been extended to Berar by the Berar Laws Act, 1941 (4 of 1941). It has been declared to be in force in the Angul District by the Angul Laws Regulation, 1936 (5 of 1936), s. 3 and Sch., and also by notification under s. 3 of the Scheduled Districts Act, 1874 (14 of 1874), in the Districts of Hazaribagh, Lohardaga and Manbhum and Pargana Dhalbhum and the Kolhan in the District of Singbhum, see Gazette of India, 1881, Pt. I, p. 504. The District of Lohardaga (now called the Ranchi District, see Calcutta Gazette, 1889, Pt. I, p. 44) included at this time the District of Palamau, which was separated in 1894. It has been amended in its application to Bengal by Ben. Act 5 of 1942 ; C. P. and Berar by C. P. & Berar Act 25 of 1939; Madras by Mad. Acts 3 of 1943, 14 of 1944, 9 of 1947, 17 of 1950 and 12 of 1960; Orissa by Orissa Act 6 of 1938; and U. P. by U.P. Acts 4 of 1925 and 4 of 1936. The Act has not been extended to the State of Manipur, vide Act 30 of 1950, s. 3 and Sch .as amended by Act 68 of 1956. The Act has been extended to the whole of Madhya Pradesh by M.P. Act 23 of 1958 (when notified) and to transferred territories in Punjab by Punjab Act 41 of 1960.

2. Subs. by the A. 0. 1948, for "the Lower Provinces of Bengal, the North-Western Provinces, the Punjab Oudh, the Central Provinces and Assam, and to empower each of the Local Governments of the rest of British India to extend to the territories administered by it".

3. Subs. by Act 3 of 1951, s. 3 and Sch., for "except Part B States".

4. Subs. by the Adaptation of Laws (No. 2) Order, 1956, for the former paragraph.

5. Under this power, the Act has been extended, subject to certain omissions and so far only as it relates to judicial Courts, Civil and Criminal, to the Madras Presidency, except the Scheduled Districts, from 1st April 1882, see Fort St. George Gazette, 1881, Pt. I, pp. 491 and 707. Ss. 3 and 4 of the Act have been extended to the Regulation Districts of the Bombay Presidency, see Bombay Government Gazette 1885, Pt. I, p. 290; and ss. 13 [except clauses (a), (b), (c), (d) and (f) thereof), 34, 36 and 40 have been extended, to the whole of the Bombay Presidency (Bombay Gazette, 1904, Pt. p. 1635). Ch. I, s. 40, Sch. II, and so much of Chs. III, V, VI and VII as relates to pleaders, have been extended to Coorg, see Mysore Gazette, 1879, Pt . I, p. 355; see also Coorg District Gazette, 1891, Pt. 1, p. 140, for notification extending ss. 4, 5 and 38; Coorg District Gazette, 1899, Pt. I, P. 122, for notification extending ss. 3, 13 and 36 as amended by Act 11 of 1896 so far as they relate to pleaders; and Coorg Gazette, 1935, Pt. I, A. 2, for notification extending ss. 4 and 41. Ss. 4 and 41 have been extended to Ajmer-Merwara, see Gazette id India, 1927, Pt, II-A P. 214. *. Vide Notification No. S.O. 3912 (E), dated 30th October, 2019, this Act is made applicable to the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the Union territory of Ladakh.

Untitled Document

Legal Practitioners Act, 1879 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys