Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

31. Establishment of Council.

(1) With effect from such date as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, specify in this behalf, there shall be established a central body to be called the Council.

(2) The Council shall consist of the following members, namely:

(a) the Minister in charge of technical education in the Central Government, ex officio, as Chairman;

(b) the Chairman of each Institute, ex officio

(c) the Director of each Institute, ex officio;

(d) the Chairman, University Grants Commission, ex officio;

(e) the Director-General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, ex officio;

(f) the Chairman of the Council of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, ex officio;

(g) the Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, ex officio;

(h) three persons to be nominated by the Central Government, one to represent the Ministry concerned with technical education, another to represent the Ministry of Finance and the third to represent any other Ministry;

(i) one person to be nominated by the All-India Council for Technical Education;

(j) not less than three, but not more than five, persons to be nominated by the Visitor, who shall be persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of education, industry, science or technology;

(k) three Members of Parliament, of whom two shall be elected by the House of the People from among its members and one by the Council of States from among its members.

(3) An officer of the Ministry of the Central Government concerned with technical education shall be nominated by that Government to act as the Secretary of the Council.

Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys