Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library


Omitted by the Devolution Act, 1920 (38 of 1920), s. 2 and the First Schedule (w.e.f. 14- 9-1920)

1. Short title given by the Indian Short Titles Act, 1897 (14 of 1897).
This Act has been declared to be in force in the Santhal Parganas by the Santhal Parganas Settlement Regulation, 1872 (3 of 1872), s. 3, in the C. P. and the Sambalpur District by the C. P. Laws Act, 1875 (20 of 1875). It has been declared by notification under s. 3(a) of the Scheduled Districts Act, 1874 (14 of 1874), to be in force in the following Scheduled Districts, namely:

The Districts of Hazaribagh Lohardaga (now the Ranchi District, see Calcutta Gazette, 1899, Pt. I, p. 44), and Manbhum, and Pargana Dhalbhum and the Kolhan in the District of Singhbhum....................................................... . . . see Gazette of India,....................... 1881, Pt. I, p. 504.
The District of Lahaul . . . ... ... . .. ... . . .Ditto.......................................... 1886, Pt. I, p. 301.
It has been extended, by notification under s. 5 of the last-mentioned Act, to the Scheduled District of Coorg see Gazette of India, 1878, Pt. I, p. 45.

The Act has been extended to Ajmer-Merwara along with Act 8 of 1851, see Gazette of India, 1889, Pt. II, p. 562; to the Scheduled Districts in Vizagapatam and Ganjam, see Fort St. George Gazette, 1899, Pt. I, p.1486, and ibid., 1900, Pt. I, p. 1101, respectively; and to the District of Darjeeling, see Calcutta Gazette, 1934, Pt. I. p. 179.

The Act has been extended to the Union territory of Pondicherry by Act 26 of 1968, s. 3 and the Schedule.
The Act is to be deemed to be and to have been in force in the Punjab, from the 24th March, 1864, see the Indian Tolls Act, 1888 (8 of 1888), s. 1, and tolls levied or purporting to have been levied under the Act before the passing of Act 8 of 1888, are to be deemed to have been lawfully levied---see s. 3, ibid.

The Act has been repealed in Mysore by Mysore Act 29 of 1958. The Act has been amended in Andhra Pradesh by Andhra Pradesh Act 17 of 1975.

2. Certain words omitted by Act 38 of 1920, s.2 and the First Schedule (w.e.f. 14-9-1920).

3. The Indian Tolls Act, 1851.

4. Subs. by Act 38 of 1920, s. 2 and the First Schedule, for "specified in the Schedule to the said Act 8 of 1851 or in the Schedule to this Act".

5. The Act now regulating tolls in the Presidency of Bombay is the Tolls on Roads and Bridges Act, 1875 (Bom. 3 of 1875). That Act repealed Act 8 of 1851 in the Bombay Presidency, see s.1, and declared that Act 15 of 1864 should be deemed to have been extended thereto as from the 30th July, 1864, see s. 2. 6. Act 8 of 1851 and this Act have been extended to Oudh (see Gazette of India, 1865, Pt. I, p.777), the C.P. (see ibid., Pt.I, 1871, p.611) and to the District of Lakhimpur (see Assam Gazette, 1935, Pt. II, p.1025). As to the authority of the Provincial Government in any part of the Provinces, not specified in s. 2 of Act 8 of 1851, to which that Act or this Act may be or have been extended see the Indian Tolls Act, 1888 (8 of 1888), s. 2(1).

Indian Tolls Act, 1864 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys