Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

18. Composition of State Committee.

(1) A State Committee shall consist of sixteen members, to be nominated by the State Government, namely:

(i) three members from the Muslim members of

(a) Parliament representing the State;

(b) State Legislative Assembly; and

(c) Legislative Council, where it exists;

(ii) three members from Muslim members representing local bodies in the State;

(iii) three members having expertise in Muslim theology and law including one who shall be a Shia Muslim;

(iv) five members representing Muslim voluntary organisations working in the fields of public administration, finance, education, culture or social work;

(v) the Chairperson of the State Wakf Board; and

(vi) Executive Officer of the State Committee, who shall be the ex officio member of the State Committee:

Provided that a Committee for any Union territory or a Joint State Committee shall consist of such number of members as may be prescribed.

(2) In case where there is no Muslim member in any of the categories mentioned in clauses (i) and (ii) of sub-section (1), or where there is no Legislative Council in a State, nomination may be made in such manner as may be prescribed.

Haj Committee Act, 2002 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys