Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998

3. Establishment and incorporation of Central commission

(1) The Central Government shall, within three months from the date of the commencement of this Act by notification in the Official Gazette, establish a body to be known as the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission to exercise the powers conferred on, and the functions assigned to, it under this Act.

(2) The Central Commission shall be a body corporate by the name aforesaid, having perpetual succession and a common seal with power to acquire, hold and dispose of property, both movable and immovable, and to contract and shall, by the said name, sue or be sued.

(3) The head office of the Central Commission shall be at such place as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, specify.

(4) The Central Commission shall consist of the following Members, namely:-

(a) a Chairperson and three other Members;

(b) the Chairman of the Central Electricity Authority appointed under sub-section (3) of section 3 of the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1948, who shall be the Member, ex officio.

(5) The Chairperson and the other Members of the Central Commission shall be appointed by the Central Government on the recommendation (of the Selection Committee referred to in section 5:

Provided that nothing contained in this sub-section shall apply to the appointment of a person as the Chairperson, where such person is or has been a Judge of the Supreme Court or the Chief Justice of a High Court.

Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys