Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library

12. Constitution, powers and functions of the Board.

(1) The Board shall consist of the following members, namely:-

(i) the Vice-Chancellor, ex officio Chairman;

(ii) two secretaries from amongst the secretaries in charge of the Departments of Agriculture and Forests of a State in the North-Eastern region to be nominated by the Visitor by rotation in the alphabetical order to represent that State;

(iii) two eminent scientists to be nominated by the Visitor;

(iv) two distinguished persons representing Agro-based industries to be nominated by the Visitor;

(v) the Deputy Director-General (Education) representing the Indian Council of Agricultural Research;

(vi) the Secretary to the North-Eastern Council set up under section 3 of the North-Eastern Council Act, 1971 (84 of 1971);

(vii) one Dean of college and one Director to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor on rotational basis;

(viii) two persons representing farmers in the States of the North-Eastern region to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor by rotation in the alphabetical order of those States;

(ix) an industrialist or a manufacturer having special knowledge in agricultural development to be nominated by the Visitor;

(x) one woman social worker representing women social organisation in the North-Eastern region;

(xi) an Advisor (Agriculture), Planning Commission;

(xii) a distinguished authority on forestry, social forestry or environment management to be nominated by the Visitor;

(xiii) three persons not below the rank of Joint Secretary representing respectively the Departments of the Central Government dealing with Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Forestry; and

(xiv) the Registrar of the University, Secretary.

(2) The term of office of the members of the Board, other than ex officio members, shall be two years.

(3) The Board shall have the power of management and administration of the revenue and property of the University and the conduct of all administrative affairs of the University not otherwise provided for.

(4) Subject to the provisions of this Act, the Statutes and the Ordinances, the Board shall, in addition to all other powers vested in it, have the following powers, namely:-

(i) to create teaching and academic posts, to determine the number and emoluments of such posts and to define the duties and conditions of service of teachers and other academic staff and Deans of colleges, Directors and heads of other institutions maintained by the University;

(ii) to appoint such teachers and other academic staff, as may be necessary, and Deans of colleges, Directors and heads of other institutions maintained by the University on the recommendation of the Selection Committee constituted for the purpose and to fill up temporary vacancies therein;

(iii) to create administrative, ministerial and other necessary posts and to make appointments thereto in the manner prescribed by the Ordinances;

(iv) to grant leave of absence to any officer of the University other than the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor, and to make necessary arrangements for the discharge of the functions of such officer during his absence;

(v) to regulate and enforce discipline among employees in accordance with the Statutes and the Ordinances;

(vi) to manage and regulate the finances, accounts, investments, property, business and all other administrative affairs of the University, and for that purpose to appoint such agents as it may think fit;

(vii) to fix limits on the total recurring and the total non-recurring expenditure for a year on the recommendations of the Finance Committee;

(viii) to invest any money belonging to the University, including any unapplied income, in such stocks, funds, shares or securities, from time to time, as it may think fit or in the purchase of immovable property in India, with the like powers of varying such investment from time to time;

(ix) to transfer or accept transfers of any movable or immovable property on behalf of the University;

(x) to provide buildings, premises, furniture and apparatus and other means needed for carrying on the work of the University;

(xi) to enter into, vary, carry out and cancel contracts on behalf of the University;

(xii) to entertain, adjudicate upon, and, if thought fit, to redress any grievances of the employees and students of the University;

(xiii) to appoint examiners and moderators and, if necessary, to remove them, and to fix their fees, emoluments and travelling and other allowances, after consulting the Academic Council;

(xiv) to select a common seal for the University and provide for the custody and use of such seal;

(xv) to make such special arrangements as may be necessary for the residence and discipline of women students;

(xvi) to delegate any of its powers to the Vice-Chancellor, the Deans, Directors, the Registrar or the Comptroller or such other employee or authority of the University or to a committee appointed by it as it may deem fit;

(xvii) to institute fellowships, scholarships, studentships, medals and prizes;

(xviii) to provide for the appointment of Visiting Professors, Emeritus Professors, Consultants and Scholars and determine the terms and conditions of such appointment; and

(xix) to exercise such other powers and perform such other duties as may be conferred or imposed on it by the Act, or the Statutes.

Central Agricultural University Act, 1992 Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys