Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library
Search Colleges
Course Name:

Add Colleges

Sawaal Jawaab
Have a Sawaal? Ask

Search Questions

Law College Events and News


PRATIBIMB 2013 - National Law Fest

Department of Legal Studies and Research, BU, Bhopal proudly announces its 1st National Law Fest PRATIBIMB - 2013.

Misogynistic approach of society towards Women


  1. Moot Court Competition
  2. Parliamentary Debate
  3. Quiz
  4. Debate
  5. Extempore
  6. Judgment Writing Competition
  7. Street Play
  8. Poster Making Competition

The competition is open to all students, enrolled bonafide on a regular basis in an undergraduate law course or its equivalent conducted by any recognized Institution/College/University.

Moot Court Competition:

  • Any recognized institution shall be entitled to send only one team.
  • The team shall comprise of a minimum of 2 members and maximum of 3 members. In a team comprising of 2 members, both the members shall be designated as Speakers.
  • In a team comprising of 3 members, the 3rd member of the team will be designated as Researcher.
  • Any additional Member or Team Coach of any Team shall not be recognized and not be entitled to a certificate from the Organizing Committee.
  • Clarifications to the case Teams may request for Clarifications via email to latest by 4th November, 2013(11:59 p.m. IST).

Registration fee: Rs 1000/-

Judgment Writing Competition:

  • Case for the competition will be circulated a week before the competition.
  • The brief consisting of plaint / complaint/ petition, Written statement / reply, affidavits of parties, oral evidence and documents, will be circulated a day before the competition.
  • Participants will write the judgments accordingly.
  • Two best judgments will receive prizes.

Registration Fee: Rs 100/- per team

Parliamentary Debate:

  • Each debating match will consist of two teams; one to propose the motion and one to oppose it. The team proposing may be known as 'The Proposition', 'The Affirmative' or 'The Government'. The team opposing may be known as 'The Opposition' or 'The Negative'. Teams will be designated as the Proposition or the Opposition for each round of the competition.
  • Each debate shall be adjudicated upon by a panel comprising of an odd number of adjudicators. One of these shall be designated as Chairperson. In exceptional situations, and only in Phase 1, a debate may be adjudicated by a single experienced adjudicator.
  • Each debate shall be timed by a timekeeper. In the absence of a timekeeper, a member of the adjudication panel will time the speeches. 1.4 Teams will comprise the following members.

  • Affirmative:
    1. Prime Minister, or First Affirmative.
    2. Deputy Prime Minister, or Second Affirmative.
    3. Government Whip, or Third Affirmative

  • Negative:
    1. Leader of the Opposition, or First Negative.
    2. Deputy Leader of the Opposition, or Second Negative.
    3. Opposition Whip, or Third Negative

  • Debaters will speak in the following order:
    1. Prime Minister, or 1 st Affirmative.
    2. Leader of Opposition, or 1 st Negative.
    3. Deputy Prime Minister, or 2 nd Affirmative.
    4. Deputy Leader of Opposition, or 2 nd Negative.
    5. Government Whip, or 3 rd Affirmative.
    6. Opposition Whip, or 3 rd Negative.
    7. Opposition Reply Speech, to be given by either the 1st or 2nd Negative speaker.
    8. Government Reply Speech, to be given by either the 1st or 2nd Affirmative speaker.

  • Speakers not 'holding the floor' may not rise during a speech unless it is to offer a 'Point of Information'. Speakers doing so, or considered to be heckling, barracking or whose behavior is interfering with the acceptable course of a debate will be declared 'out of order' or will be 'called to order' by the Chairperson.

Registration Fee: Rs. 800/- per team


  • Each Team shall comprise of two Participants.
  • The preliminary round shall be in writing.
  • The questions shall be in the form of Multiple choice, True/false statements, Specific answer question etc.
  • Team Scoring the Highest Marks in the written Quiz shall qualify for the final round.

Registration Fee: Rs. 200/- per team


Topic for Debate:
Is marriage an Institution or is it merely unpaid sex / legalised prostitution?

  • Two speakers from each team, one affirmative and one negative are allowed.
  • Each speaker will be given five minutes. At the completion of four minutes, there will be warning bell.
  • Marks will be deducted if the speaker exceeds the time limits.
  • Speakers are allowed to speak only in English.
  • No abusive language shall be used.
  • There will be two questions of Interjection- one from participating teams and other from audience.

Registration Fee: Rs. 200/- per team


  • Each Participating will be given two minutes to speak on a topic picked up by him/her by draw of lots.
  • A bell will ring at the end of one minute to indicate that one minute is left to finish his/her speech. Another bell will ring at the end of Two minutes.
  • Marks will be deducted if the speaker exceeds the time limit.

Registration Fee: Rs. 200/- per team

Street Play:

General Guidelines:

  • Following are the items/ services which will be provided by us:
  • A computer/ laptop for background music. Please bring the music in CDs in MP3 format. You can also perform live music but the necessary instruments must be arranged by the team.
  • Nothing will be provided for prior practice.
  • Anything apart from above mentioned must be arranged by the team itself.
  • Use of vulgar language is prohibited. Points may be deducted for the same based on judge's discretion.
  • In case of any discrepancies final say is that of judges only.
  • Play could be in English, Hindi or Bi-lingual.
  • Maximum 7 members in one team are allowed
  • Maximum time limit: 15mins.
  • There will be only 1 round.

Registration Fee: Rs 300/- per team

Poster Making Competition:

  • Each team will comprise of minimum 1 maximum 2 members
  • Theme for the poster should be related to Women
  • Students have to include a self written quotation.
  • Marks will be equally distributed.

Registration Fees: Rs 100/-

Important Dates:

  • Participation confirmation has to be given on or before 4th November, 2013.
  • Last date for registration along with submission of registration fees is 11th November, 2013
  • Participants have to send their travel plan on or before 11th November, 2013.
  • The last date for Memorial submissions for the Moot Court Competition is 19th November, 2013 for both hard copy and soft copy.
  • Case disclosure for Judgment Writing Competition is 20th November, 2013
  • Teams have to report on or before 28th November, 09:00 A.M.

Participants in need to avail hospitality have to submit a sum of Rs. 500/- per team on or before 11th November, 2013.

Achyut Tiwari
Phone: +91-9425517844

Udyaa Raghavan
Phone: +91-8349160191

S. Prathyusha
Phone: +91-8962835311

Apurva Verma
Phone: +91-9589553191

Aditya Choudhary
Phone: +91-9584057457


rss feed img

Law College Events and News Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys