Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library
Search Colleges
Course Name:

Add Colleges

Sawaal Jawaab
Have a Sawaal? Ask

Search Questions

Law College Events and News


Prof. R.U. Singh Memorial National Moot Court Competition, 2010 from 19-21 November, 2010 Organized by Faculty of Law, University of Lucknow

Rules and Regulations

Date and Venue:
The Prof. R.U.Singh Memorial National Moot Court Competition under the auspices of Faculty ofLaw, University of Lucknow will he held from 19th to 21st November 2010 at Lucknow University,Second Campus, Sitapur Road, Lucknow (U.P.)

The Competition is open to all Law Colleges and Faculties/ Departments of Law in India, recognized by Bar Council of India. The participation is limited to the LL.B/B.L students in both three year scheme and five year schemes. Students pursuing post graduation in law and students undergoing non-professional/ correspondence course are not eligible to participate in the competition.

Team Composition:
Each institution participating in the competition can send a team comprising of a minimum of two and a maximum of three students. There can be two speakers and one researcher designated in each team. Teams shall identify such speakers and researcher during registration. Any additional member of any Team shall not be entitled for local hospitality or for any award declared under the rules of the Competition. No Team coach is allowed to accompany any Team. Accommodation shall be provided to the participants only during the days of the Competition. Teams who intend to arrive prior to or leave after the specified dates are required to make their own arrangements.

The Registration Form can also be downloaded from the official website ( The participating teams will have to register themselves with the Moot Court Committee by filling up the Registration Form along with sending a bonafide letter issued by the appropriate authority of their Institution/College/University, by email or by post on or before 30th October, 2010. However the teams will be required to register on spot on 19th November 2010 by paying Rs. 500/-. A code number will be allotted to each team at the time of registration on spot on 19th November 2010 and that number alone shall be marked on the memorials and no indication shall be made for identifying the institution of the participants. The participants shall wear the badge provided by the organizer throughout the days of the competition.

The teams will be received from 19th November 2010 onwards at Airport/ Railway/ Bus station if the time of arrival is intimated in advance. Or else the teams can report at the Reception committee office at Lucknow University IInd Campus, Sitapur Road, Lucknow. Intimation may be given to Prof. A. K. Awasthi (9415021742), Dr. R. R.Lyall (9415516974) Dr. O. N. Mishra (9415195445) and Dr. Rakesh Kr. Singh (9415027528). Food and separate accommodation for boys and girls will be provided free of cost by the Faculty from 19th morning to 22nd evening. This will include the dinners hosted by the Faculty.

Moot Court Problem:
Manohar was elected a member of the 14th Lok Sabha from Sunder Nagar parliamentary constituency. Before the election Manohar was the Chairperson of Sunder Nagar Municipal Corporation. Ramu, one of the contestants for Sunder Nagar Parliamentary Constituency, who lost election against Manohar, lodged a complaint that as Chairperson of the Municipal Corporation Manohar had amassed assets disproportionate to his known sources of income. In another complaint to the Speaker of Lok Sabha, Ramu also alleged that a dishonest person like Manohar did not deserve to be a member of the Lok Sabha and, therefore, an investigation must be conducted against him through a House Committee.

Bahadur, a voter in Manohar's constituency made another complaint to the Speaker that Manohar had accepted large sums of money from him for raising certain questions in the Lok Sabha. Shamu, a third person alleged that Manohar had accepted large sums of money from him for voting against the confidence motion tabled in the House. The Speaker referred all the three complaints to the Privilege Committee of the House. The Committee found Manohar guilty on all the three counts and recommended his expulsion from the House. Acting upon the recommendations of the Committee, the Speaker, after giving due notice and hearing to Manohar, expelled him from the Lok Sabha.

Aggrieved by the decision of the Speaker, Manohar files a petition in the Delhi High Court that his expulsion from the Lok Sabha is unconstitutional for a number of reasons. The High Court issues notice to the Speaker. The Speaker declines to accept the notice and contest the matter in the Court. The High Court hears the petition after giving a notice to the Attorney General and asking him to appear before the Court to defend the action of the Speaker as well as to assist the Court in arriving at a right decision.
Argue on behalf of the parties in the Court.

Each team must prepare memorandum dealing with jurisdiction, issues involved in the problem, summary of arguments and arguments supported by authorities, conclusion and prayer for both the Petitioner's side and Respondent's side. Memorandums must be in English. The body of the Memorandum shall not exceed 25 typed pages. These 25 pages include Cover Page, Table of Contents, Index of Authorities, Statement of Jurisdiction, Statement of Facts, Statement of Issues, Summary of Arguments , Written Pleadings, Prayer and foot notes.

Written pleadings in any case should not exceed 10 pages. Any issue or pleading, not discussed within the body of the Memorandum shall not be permitted to be raised in the Court. The teams shall send the soft copies of the memorials on or before 05-11-2010 by email on The teams shall send hard copies (5 sets) of their written memorials on or before 05-11-2010 by post to the following address:

The Convenor,
Moot court committee,
Faculty of Law,
Lucknow University, II Campus, Sitapur road,
Lucknow- 226021.

Contact Details
For any further clarification and query please contact:-
Dr. R.R.Lyall : 9415516974 (Mob)
Dr.O.N.Mishra : 9415195445 (Mob)
Dr. R.B.Jaisal :9450018463 (Mob)
Dr.Rakesh Kr.Singh : 9415027528 (Mob)
Dr. Vineeta Kacher :9450917532 (Mob)

Download Hand Book of Information, Registration Form

Law College Events and News Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys