Login : Advocate | Client
Home Post Your Case My Account Law College Law Library
Search Colleges
Course Name:

Add Colleges

Sawaal Jawaab
Have a Sawaal? Ask

Search Questions

Law College Events and News


Surana & Surana National Trial Advocacy Moot Court Competition - 2010

Venue & Date:

India North Rounds (3rd - 5th Sep, 2010)
University Institute of Legal Studies (UILS) Panjab University
Sector- 14, Chandigarh - 160014
Ph.: 0172 - 2784283
Fax: 0172 - 2784283
Faculty in charge: Prof. Dr. Shruti Bedi
Teams from: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh,Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal & NUALS, Kochi
All teams will be provided boarding and lodging only for the duration of the competition

India South Rounds(24th - 26th Sep, 2010)
National University of Advanced Legal Studies(NUALS),
Kochi 682 017, Kerala
Phone: 0484-233 7363
Fax: 0484-233 7857
Faculty in charge: Mr. Jacob Joseph
Teams from:Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka Kerala, Maharashtra, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu & UILS, Panjab University, Chandigarh

Language: The competition shall be in English.

Eligibility: The competition is open to all students wanting to excel in trial advocacy on first come first served basis. The number of teams is limited to 12 (Twelve) for each rounds (India South and North). There will strictly no increase in this number. Participants should be currently pursuing their bachelors' degree in law i.e. 3 Year LL.B. Programme or 5 Year LL.B. Programme.

Team Composition: Each team shall consist of a minimum of 2 and maximum of 4 members. This number cannot be modified under any circumstances. There can be 2 speakers and 2 researchers designated for each team. Teams have the option of designating two of its members to be speakers for the prosecution and the other two speakers for the defense. The team shall notify such an arrangement at the time of registration to the organizers. Such a team shall not, during any stage of the competition, rearrange the position of its members to form any new combination. Each team will have a team code and each participant shall also be given an individual code. Teams should not disclose their identity or that of their institution or city, etc.; such disclosure shall invite penalties including disqualification. The decision for the same shall be at the discretion of the Administrator.

Registration: Due to the unique format of the competition and requirement of special arrangements, registration is restricted to only 12 teams and will be strictly on First Come First Served basis (Priority shall be determined on the basis of email confirmation subject to the condition that duly filled registration forms reach organizers on due date). Under no circumstances this rule will be modified. Confirmation of participation may be sent to, (India South) (India North) and (for both) marked as SURANA & SURANA NATIONAL TRIAL ADVOCACY MOOT REGISTRATION as the subject. A copy of the Registration form, duly attested by the head of the institution, may be sent subsequently by post to The Vice Chancellor, National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), Kaloor, Kochi-682 017 (India South) and The Director, University Institute of Legal Studies, Panjab University, Chandigarh,(India North) respectively as the case may be, on a date not later than 18 August 2010. The Registration form can also be faxed to the respective institutions as given above.

Semi Finals and Final Rounds
Qualification to the Semi Final Round will be based on win points. In case of a tie in the preliminary rounds, teams scoring the highest points will move into the Semi Final Rounds. The top four teams will proceed to semifinals. The teams will be provided their opponent's memorials after declaration of preliminary results in the evening. The Finals will be held on Sunday (5 Sept / 26 Sept respectively).

Six (6) copies each of the memorials for Prosecution & Defence + a soft copy on CD for each side must be submitted by the teams during registration. One advance hard copy of both Prosecution and Defence Memorials must reach the organisers latest by 4:30 pm by 28 August 2010 for the purpose of evaluation. Late submissions will result in 1 point penalty per category (Prosecution & Defence) per day till 4.30 p.m. on the day of registration.

The winners of the competition will be announced during the Awards Ceremony on India North - 5 Sept 2010 (Sunday) and India South - 26 Sept 2010 (Sunday) respectively.
a. Trial Advocacy Team of the Year Award - A Plaque and cash prize of Rs 18,000/-only
b. Second Best Trial Advocacy Team of the Year Award - A Plaque and a cash prize of Rs. 9,000/ - only
c. Experientia Patronus Hornus Award (Trial Advocate of the year) - A Plaque and cash prize of Rs. 4,000/- only
d. Second Best Trial Advocate- A Plaque and cash prize of Rs.2000/- only
e. Best Memorial Award - A Plaque and cash prize of Rs. 4,000/- only
f. Second Best Memorial Award - A Plaque and cash prize of Rs. 2,000/ - only
g. In addition to the above awards plaques and certificates are given to other categories of winners

Any clarifications for the competition can be sought from:
Prof. Dr. N.K. Jayakumar
National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS)
Kaloor, Kochi 682 017, Kerala
Phone: 0484 - 2337 363, Telefax: 0484 - 2337 857
and (Fax: 044 -2812 0001)

Mr. Jacob Joseph,
Faculty Co-ordinator, Moot Court Society, NUALS
phone: 0 - 98479 70233

Prof. Dr. Sangita Bhalla
University Institute of Legal Studies, Panjab University, Chandigarh
Ph.: 0172 - 2784283
Fax: 0172 - 2784283

Faculty in charge: Prof. Dr. Shruti Bedi
Student Coordinators: Priyanka Vij: +91 - 98720 04893 / Amit Jyoti: +91 - 90416 00295

Download Moot Court Problem, Rules and Guidelines

Law College Events and News Back

Client Area | Advocate Area | Blogs | About Us | User Agreement | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Media Coverage | Contact Us | Site Map
powered and driven by neosys